Linden Public Schools has been named among the Best Communities for Music Education in America for the fifth year in a row. Linden is one of just 623 districts across the country to be chosen for the prestigious honor for 2019. 

The NAMM Foundation (National Association of Music Merchants) has recognized the district for its outstanding commitment to music education. Linden is one of just 40 districts in New Jersey and five in Union County selected.

“I am extremely proud of our music department and community for this award,” said Matthew Lorenzetti, supervisor of fine and performing arts. “This is a truly a team effort. Thank you to our students, teachers, Board of Education, administrators, and community. Without everyone’s contributions and dedication to the arts we wouldn’t be in the position to be nationally recognized for five consecutive years.”

Now in its 20th year, Best Communities for Music Education highlights outstanding efforts by teachers, administrators, parents, students, and community leaders who work together to ensure access to music learning for all students as part of the school curriculum.

“This is a tremendous honor and a total team effort,” said Superintendent Danny A. Robertozzi. “It is the product of hard work by our talented students, our team of dedicated music teachers, and Mr. Lorenzetti. And they couldn’t do it without the endless support of our families and community.

“In Linden, we have always recognized the value and will continue to support a strong arts program alongside our academic rigor. The two go hand-in-hand to produce a balanced education and confident, well-rounded students.”

The BCME survey was sent to nearly 14,000 school districts across the country asking detailed questions about funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities, support for the music program and community music-making programs. Responses were verified with school officials and reviewed by The Center for Public Partnerships and Research, an affiliate of the University of Kansas.